"Communion," directed by Anna Zamecka, was included on the list of 15 documentary films recommended to the European Film Award! From among hundreds of submitted titles, the members of EFA selected the list of 15 titles, from among which, 5 nominations will be chosen.

"Communion" is a documentary film about 14-year-old Ola, who not only takes care of the ineffective father, autistic brother and the mother who lives separately; but most of all, she tries to bring the family together. She lives with the hope that she would be able to bring her mother back home. The pretext to meet her is the Holy Communion of the 13-year-old Nikodem, and Ola assumes full responsibility for preparing an ideal family celebration. Nikodem himself observes the struggles of his loved ones from his own, unusual perspective.  

"Communion" is the documentary feature film directed by Anna Zamecka, produced in 2016 by HBO Europe, Otter Films and Wajda Studio, co-financed by Polish Film Institue. 

 The film has already been presented and won many awards at international film festivals:

Locarno Film Festival 2016 (Semaine De La Critique Best Film), Warsaw Film Festival (Best Documentary Award), DOK Leipzig Film Festival (Young Eyes Award), IDFA (Best of Fests), Minsk International Film Festival "Listapad", Bratislava International Film Festival (Best Documentary Film), Camerimage Film Festival, Trieste Film Festival (Best Documentary Film), ZagrebDOX, It's All True International Documentary Film Festival (Best Documentary Film), Hot Docs Documentary Film Festival, DOk.fest International Documentary Film Festival Munich (SOS-Kinderdorfer Weltweit Award), TRT Documentary Awards (Best Documentary Award), DOC Aviv Film Festival and OsloPIX (Grand Prix Documentary), Polish Film Academy Awards - Eagle (Best Documentary Film).

"Communion" trailer is available here.

The full shortlist film for European Doc Award:

"Austerlitz" dir. Siergiej Łoźnica

"Dead Donkeys Fear no Hyenas" dir. Joakim Demmer

"How to meet a Mermaid" dir. Coco Schrijber

"La Chana" dir. Lucija Stojevic

"Libera Nos" dir. Federica Di Giacomo

"Nothingwood" dir. Sonia Kronlund

"School Life" dir. Neasa Ní Chianáin & David Rane

"Stranger in Paradise" dir. Guido Hendrikx

"Taste of Cement" dir. Ziad Kalthoum

"The Good Postman" dir. Tonislav Hristov

"The Venerable W" dir. Barbet Schroeder

"The War Show" dir. Andreas Dalsgaard & Obaidah Zytoon

"Ultra" dir. Balazs Simonyi

"West of the Jordan River" dir. Amos Gitai


The award ceremony will be held on December, 9th in Berlin.