On Monday evening, March 26, there was the awards ceremony of Polish Film Academy. The statuette of the Eagle for the best documentary film went to "21 x New York" by Piotr Stasik.

On March 26, in Polish Theatre, the Eagle statuettes were awarded for the twentyth time, but it was only the sixth time when documentary productions also competed for the awards. The Eagle Award for the Best Documentary Film was given by the members of the Academy to "21 x New York" by Piotr Stasik. Other films nominated in the same category were "The Beksińskis. A Sound and Picture Album" by Marcin Borchardt and "Młynarski. The Final Song" by Alicja Albrecht.

The documentary film by Piotr Stasik is an intimate portrait of the city and its inhabitants. We get acquainted with the protagonists in the New York City subway, and we follow them to the surface in order to learn more about their lives, desires, passions, hopes and dreams - sometimes squandered, and sometimes still waiting for fulfilment. The collection of stories forms an emotional tale about loneliness which accompanies human beings living in the Western society of the 21st century.

The world premiere of "21 x New York" opened the 56th Krakow Film Festival where the film won the Best Producer award (Agnieszka Wasiak, Lava Films) and a recommendation for European Film Awards, which led to the film being nominated last year, together with four other movies, for Best European Documentary award. Stasik's film is being shown, not without success, at film festivals around the world including Mexico, RSA, Belarus and Macedonia. The international promotion, festival distribution and world sale of the film is managed by KFF Sales&Promotion.

Polish Film Awards were founded in 1999, yet only in 2013 category for best Polish documentary film has been created. The award went in previous years to: "Man at War" by Jacek Bławut, "Another World" by Dorota Kędzierzawska, "Warsaw Uprising" by Jan Komasa, "The Actress" by Kinga Dębska and Maria Konwicka and "Communion" by Anna Zamecka.

The full list of award-winners can be found on the website of Polish Film Academy